Music Reviews

Alice Merton: Mint

German Canadian artist Alice Merton‘s first full length album “Mint” was released as a follow up to 2018’s No Roots EP. Merton’s release has immediately made its mark on Canadian music.

Mint was released January 18, 2019, after leaving fans wanting more with the release of No Roots EP in April of 2018. The song “No Roots” was an anthem for the spring and summer of 2018 in Canada. It’s collision of pop and deep bass created a sound and sensation that created a ripple in popular culture that few Canadian artists have the opportunity to experience.

Building on her previous momentum, Mint showcases a sounds that feels both fresh and comfortably familiar at the same time. While Merton’s lyrics do not delve to the same probative level as fellow Canadian Alanis Morrisette, they do develop her unique point of view. Merton also comes off less jaded than early Avril Lavigne, likely due to her age. The universality of experience that follows the themes of her songs is more reminiscent of Jann Arden, singable, digestible and relatable.

Mint is filled with a generous amount of fun and catchy hooks that leave the listener singing them throughout the day. Songs such as “Lash Out”, “Funny Business” and “Why so Serious” are difficult to shake from my mind once they have taken up residence. I often find myself absentmindedly singing them throughout the day.

Alice Merton’s voice is her best asset, and from the strength of her early releases should have an enduring career. She has yet to scratch the surface of the depths she could reach in her lyrics; however, this may not be the niche she sees herself filling. The one question I have is, where is the German? In a country where our German heritage has been systematically eradicated through the Anglicization of our history, it would be nice to see an artist honour this part of our heritage.


  1. Learn to Live
  2. 2 Kids
  3. No Roots
  4. Funny Business
  5. Homesick
  6. Lash Out
  7. Speak Your Mind
  8. I Don’t Hold a Grudge
  9. Honeymoon Heartbreak
  10. Trouble in Paradise
  11. Why so Serious


Categories: Music Reviews

Tagged as: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.